Science News Roundup: NASA Launches Test Mission for Spacecraft Deflecting Asteroids; Pentagon to form new group to investigate UFOs and more

Here is a summary of scientific news briefs.

NASA launches test mission of deviating asteroid spacecraft

A spacecraft that must ultimately crash to be successful was launched Tuesday night from California as part of a NASA mission to demonstrate the world’s first planetary defense system, designed to deflect an asteroid with potential apocalyptic collision with Earth. The DART spacecraft flew into the night sky at 10:21 p.m. Pacific time Tuesday (1:21 a.m. EST / 0621 GMT Wednesday) from Vandenberg US Space Force Base, approximately 150 miles northwest of Los Angeles, transported aboard a Falcon belonging to SpaceX. 9 rocket.

Pentagon to form new group to investigate UFOs

The US Department of Defense announced Tuesday night that it would establish a new group to investigate reports of UFOs in restricted airspace. The group’s formation comes after the government released a report in June, including 144 observations, which said there was insufficient data to determine the nature of mysterious flying objects.

The risk of long-term COVID is not lower with a breakthrough infection; COVID-19 survival improves for cancer patients in Europe

The following is a summary of some recent studies on COVID-19. They include research that warrants further study to corroborate the results and that has not yet been certified by peer review. Long-term COVID risk not lower after breakthrough infection

(This story was not edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

About Travis Durham

Travis Durham

Check Also

UCF and Florida State among universities to research aviation for NASA – WFTV

ORANGE COUNTY, Florida – The University of Central Florida and Florida State University are among …