Watch NASA’s DART spacecraft crash into an asteroid live on September 26

It’s time to get ready to watch a spaceship crash into an asteroid.

You can watch all the action from NASA’s Dual Asteroid Redirect Mission (DART) live here on Space.com and on NASA TV (opens in a new tab), including the day of impact today (September 26). In the weeks leading up to impact, you can also listen to press briefings on mission objectives and progress.

DART will crash into Dimorphos, the small moon of a near-Earth asteroid called Didymos. If successful, the spacecraft will alter the trajectory of Dimorphos in its orbit around Didymos; how Dimorphos’ orbit changes will be confirmed in the months and years after impact.

The mission aims to test methods of planetary defense in a safe environment, as the activities pose no threat to Earth. Here’s how you can follow the action live.

Related: NASA’s DART asteroid impact mission explained in pictures

Monday, September 26: 5:30 p.m. ET – Live views from NASA’s Draco DART camera

NASA’s DART asteroid impact webcasts on September 26 begin in earnest with live footage from the spacecraft’s Draco Imaging Camera streamed live online.

The camera will broadcast live footage as it arrives until impact, when it and the DART spacecraft are destroyed.

Monday, September 26: 6 p.m. ET – DART Asteroid Impact Webcast

Live coverage of DART’s impact will begin to 6:00 p.m. EDT (22:00 GMT). You can watch it live here on Space.com, on NASA TV, and on the agency’s website (opens in a new tab). In addition to the live coverage, NASA also hosted a separate video stream (opens in a new tab) dedicated to sharing real-time images from the spacecraft’s DRACO camera as it approaches the asteroid.

The public can also watch live on the agency’s social media accounts on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube. The impact will occur at 7:14 p.m. EDT (23:14 GMT).

Artist’s impression of the DART spacecraft and the binary asteroid pair Didymos and Dimorphos. (Image credit: NASA/Johns Hopkins APL/Steve Gribben)

In the days surrounding the impact, you can also catch live coverage of the mission on various NASA social media accounts:

Sept. 26: 8 p.m. ET – NASA DART Asteroid Impact Briefing

At 8 p.m. EDT (0000 GMT), NASA will hold a press conference to provide an update on the impact of DART on the asteroid Dimorphos.

The briefing will include details on how the impact happened and when the first images could be shared.

DART will not just do science on its own; About 10 days before impact, it will launch a small cubesat called LICIACube, built by the Italian Space Agency. The cubesat will observe the impact in real time and send images of the brand new crater back to Earth.

The European Space Agency will launch a follow-up surveillance mission in 2024, called Hera. This spacecraft will study the two asteroids in more detail, including checking the impact crater and measuring the physical structure and chemical composition of the dual worlds.


Past Event: Monday, September 12: 9:00 a.m. EST – NASA DART Media Day Briefing

NASA plans to hold a hybrid media day at the Applied Physics Laboratory “focusing on technology that enables the DART spacecraft to autonomously navigate to and impact its target asteroid.” This event will begin with a media teleconference on the DART mission, its objectives and its status.

NASA has yet to share a speaker list for the event, but you can watch live on NASA TV from 9:00 a.m. EDT (1:00 p.m. GMT).

Past Event: Tuesday, September 22: 3:00 p.m. ET – NASA DART Press Conference

NASA will hold a press conference at 3:00 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT) at NASA Headquarters in Washington to discuss final DART activities before impact. The briefing can be viewed on NASA TV and here on Space.com.

  • Katherine Calvin, Chief Scientist and Senior Climate Advisor, NASA
  • Lindley Johnson, Planetary Defense Officer, NASA
  • Tom Statler, DART Program Scientist, NASA
  • Edward Reynolds, DART Project Manager, Johns Hopkins APL
  • Elena Adams, DART Mission Systems Engineer, Johns Hopkins APL

Tune in Monday, September 26 to see live coverage of NASA’s DART asteroid impact from 5 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT).

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace. Follow us on twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

About Travis Durham

Check Also

Science News Roundup: New NASA moon rocket tested in hurricane-force winds on Florida launch pad; COP27: Israel harnesses DNA from past wild crops to improve food supply and more

Here is a summary of current scientific news. NASA’s new moon rocket tested in …